Search committee for dean of College of Communication announced


The search committee for a new dean of the College of Communication was announced Monday by provost-elect Daniel Myers. The members are as follows:

  • Kati Tusinski Berg, associate professor of strategic communication
  • Joseph Brown, professional in residence of digital media and performing arts
  • Sarah Bonewits Feldner, associate dean of graduate studies and research
  • Marilynn Frenn, professor of nursing and University Academic Senate representative
  • Stephen Hudson-Mairet, char and associate professor of digital media and performing arts
  • Chinaza Nwaneri, junior in the College of Communication
  • John Pauly, chair and professor of journalism and media studies
  • Ben Tracy, ’98 and ’04 graduate, CBS News national correspondent, university trustee
  • Janice Welburn, dean of university libraries
  • In a statement, the university said it is “in the process of retaining a search firm to assist the search committee in the process.”

The search committee will be led by Feldner. Lori Bergen, current dean of the College of Communication, will vacate her position to become the dean of the new College of Media, Communication and Information at the University of Colorado-Boulder. Ana Garner, associate professor of journalism and media studies, will become the interim dean July 1.