MUSG elects PPT, fills committee positions

Last Thursday’s Marquette Student Government meeting saw four elections for MUSG Senate positions and committee assignments.

Emily Pirkl, a junior in the College of Engineering, was elected by the senate to serve as the new President Pro Tempore, replacing new Executive Vice President Zach Bowman, a sophomore in the College of Arts & Sciences. As PPT she will work closely with the Legislative Vice President Kyle Whelton, who was elected to the position last week. Pirkl characterized her position as working between committees, in addition to her responsibillities as a senator. She ran unopposed for the position.

“I’m hoping to accomplish a lot of (Whelton’s) goals and work on interdepartmental communication and communication with the students,” Pirkl said.

MUSG also elected Dani Theis, a freshman in the College of Business Administration, to an open seat on the organizations’s budget committee. Theis ran unopposed for the position.

Emmaline Jurgena, a freshman College of Communication senator, and Zach Wallace, a freshman College of Arts & Sciences senator, were both elected to the open seats of the student organization funding committee.