Hitting the Marq: 88Nine Milwaukee Music Awards

When it comes to awards, the Oscars aren’t the only show in town. Tune in to 88Nine Radio Milwaukee today for the announcement of the 3rd annual 88Nine Milwaukee Music Award winners.

These awards began in 2008 as a way for 88Nine to honor the best of Milwaukee’s music scene each year. There are currently 16 categories for awards, six of which are “Listener Choice” awards, which are voted on by visitors to radiomilwaukee.org.

Listener Choice awards include the categories: Artist of the Year, Best Music Video, Milwaukee’s Best DJ Night, Saturday Session Set of the Year, Most Memorable Live Show and Blog of the Year.

Other awards include: Song of the Year, Best New Artist, Album of the Year, Vocalist of the Year and six others.

Here’s a sampling of the nominees, the rest of which can be found on radiomilwaukee.org.

Song of the Year

“The Sword” – The Championship

“I Can’t Run” – Will Phalen & The Stereo Addicts

“Victim to the Beat” – Kid Millions

“Wha Wha Song” – The Buskers

“Don’t Take My Shadow” – Kings Go Forth

Best New Artist

The Lab Partners


Jeanna Salzer Trio

Album of the Year

“The Early Years” – The Subcontinentals

“Unmap” – Volcano Choir

“Recession Proof Rap” – Kid Millions

“Moving at the Speed of Darkness” – The Championship

Vocalist of the Year

Black Wolf of Kings Go Forth

Jeanna Salzer of Jeanna Salzer Trio

Live Mueller of The Dark Horse Project

Winners will be announced on air today, and there will be an awards party tonight at Whiskey Bar, 788 N. Jackson St., with performances by Jeanna Salzer Trio, The Subcontinentals, Prophetic, Reckless Hearts, The Championship and more. A meet and greet with the Milwaukee music industry begins at 6 p.m. and the music will kick off the party at 8 p.m. All proceeds from the event go to funding 88Nine Radio Milwaukee.